MMEA Awards

MMEA members are encouraged to submit nominations for these prestigious awards. An awards display case in Ted Mann Concert Hall at the University of Minnesota now houses a series of perpetual plaques honoring winners of MMEA awards. You are encouraged to visit our display during any event at Ted Mann Concert Hall.

Hall of Fame Awards

For significant career contributions to music education in Minnesota. Up to six awards can be given. Requirements:

- 1. Current member of MMEA-MENC.
- 2. Service as an active music educator or administrator in music education in a Minnesota public or private school or institution of higher learning for a period of not less than ten years.
- 3. Significant contributions to the music education profession in Minnesota.
- 4. All nomination materials must be submitted by June 1.

Previous Hall of Fame Winners

1986	Clinton Peterson	Stephen Schultz
Hal Freese	Paul Montan	2001
Murrae Freng	1993	Roger Bjorklund
Harriet Nordholm	Roger Barrett	2002
Gerald Prescott	Georgia Garlid	John Hansen
Ronald Riggs	Ellwood Hoiseth	Robert Iverson
Adolph White	Arnold Krueger	Ron Larson
1987	John Solie	Claire McCoy
Earl Bohm	Edgar Turrentine	2003
Willard "Woody" Budnick	1994	Paul Haack
Curtis Hanson	Jan Gilbertson	William Lavato
Vernon Malone	Miles Johnson	Vernon Opheim
George Regis	Jim Stellmaker	Thomas Swanson
Ted Thorson	1995	2004
1988	Carl Lipke	Margaret Newton
A. B. "Bud" Engen	Helge Nasby	Bonnie Swanson
Charles Erickson	Shirley Schrader	2005
T. P. Giddings	Carl Thompson	Axel Theimer
James Gronseth	1996	2006
Erwin Hertz	Allan Cornell	James Carlson
Harvey Waugh	Fulton Gallagher	Arvida Steen
1989	Alice Larsen	2007
Don Gjerdrum	Paul Storti	Peggy Johnson
Hugh Gibbons	Peter Tkach	Doug Miller
Paul Stoughton	1998	2008
1990	Gloria Kiester	Steven Boehlke
Joe Fennie	John Zdechlik	Jane Frazee
Morris Johnson	1999	2009
Hazel Nohavec Morgan	Earl Benson	Bruce Phelps
1991	Paul Brandvik	2010
William Allen Abbott	Paul Christiansen	Stanley Carlson
Gordon Peterson	J. Robert Hanson	Michael Hiatt
Alan E. Raitor	Roger Tenney	2011
1992		Tom Haugen
Frank Bencriscutto	2000	2014
Paul Heltne	Dick Foley	Wendy Barden
Mark Lammers	Duayne Malewicki	2015
Helen Nelson	Allen Opland	Douglas Orzolek

2018

Joanna Cortright

2019

Catherine Schmidt

2020

Michael Peterson

2021

Linda Berger