MMEA Awards

MMEA members are encouraged to submit nominations for these prestigious awards. An awards display case in Ted Mann Concert Hall at the University of Minnesota now houses a series of perpetual plaques honoring winners of MMEA awards. You are encouraged to visit our display during any event at Ted Mann Concert Hall.

Music Educator of the Year

For demonstrated excellence in music teaching and learning. Up to four awards can be given. Requirements:

- 1. Current member of MMEA-MENC.
- Actively teaching at the time of the award.
- 3. Minimum of 10 years of teaching experience.
- Service to the music education profession outside of his/her school and district.
- 5. A candidate may receive the award only once.
- 6. All nomination materials must be submitted by June 1.

Educator of the Year—Band Gordon Peterson - 1986 Miles Johnson - 1987 Earl Benson - 1988 Erv Rotenberry - 1989 Robert Hallquist - 1990 Gene Gaffney - 1991 Wenette Barden - 1992 Wayne Feller - 1993 Lewis Larson - 1994

Educator of the Year—Choir

Keith Johnson - 1995

Carl Lipke - 1986
Jan Gilbertson -1987
Roger Tenney - 1988
Steve Boehlke -1989
Mike Smith - 1990
Bruce Becker - 1991
Dolly Talbert - 1992
Joel Johnson - 1993
Sonja Chamberlain - 1994
Kathryn Huselid — 1995

Educator of the Year—Classroom

Margaret LaFleur - 1986 Jane Frazee -1987 Virginia Pfeiffer -1988 Loretta Mitchell - 1989 Linda Berger - 1990 Clarice Stumo - 1991 Marian Halgrimson - 1992 Colette Sherman - 1993 Joanna Cortright - 1994 Janet Gardner — 1995

Educator of the Year—Orchestra

Richard Negaard - 1986 Dean Dainsberg -1987 John Madura - 1988 J. Robert Hanson - 1989 C. William Douglass - 1990 Phil Burkhart - 1991 Steve Amundson - 1992 Ann Anderson - 1993 James D. Hainlen - 1994 Gwen Armwood - 1995

1996 Educators of the Year

Jan Antholz Sandra Gallagher Gary Fredrickson Ronald Larson

1997 Educators of the Year

Ken Grunig Candy Moffitt Chris Starr LuAnn Zellmann

1998 Educators of the Year

Stan Carlson Herb Dick Margot Olsen Bonnie Swanson

1999 Educators of the Year

James Carlson Norma Hammer Paula Holmberg Bruce Phelps

2000 Educators of the Year

Charles Leibfried Mary Gorder Jennifer Starr Terolle Turnham

2001 Educators of the Year

Victoria Amundson Dawn Kalvig Lisa Lozito Les Lueck

2002 Educators of the Year

Paul Baumgarten Scott Jones Darcy Reese Jacquelyn Schaffer

2003 Educators of the Year

Richard Jokumson Susan Krinke Judy Ross

2004 Educators of the Year

Thomas Hassig Ellen Kniebel

2005 Educators of the Year

Tedd Gullickson Cheryl Paschke

2006 Educators of the Year

Renee King Lee Kjesbo Zane Schaefer Edward Schaefle Ann Wobig

2007 Educator of the Year

David Gudmastad

2008 Educator of the Year

Judy Sagen

2010 Educator of the Year

Elizabeth Jackson

2011 Educator of the Year

William Henry Robert Ouren Michael Walsh William Webb

2013 Educator of the Year

Kay Hawley

2014 Educator of the Year

Geneva Fitzsimonds John Greene

2015 Educator of the Year

Jim Iverson

2016 Educator of the Year

Jeff G. Iverson Kari Werdahl

2017 Educator of the Year

Nancy Dostal

2018 Educator of the Year

Randy Lee John Zschunke

2019 Educator of the Year

Wayne Ivers Karen Kruse

2020 Educator of the Year

Reid Wixson

2021 Educator of the Year

Kathleen Radspinner Susan Zemlin

2024 Collegiate Educator of the Year

Matthew Olson

2024 Community Educator of the Year

Arthur Buckner Elizabeth Winslow

2024 Elementary Educator of

the Year Becca Buck

Becca Buck Kim Kroetsch

2024 High School Educator

of the Year

Scott Rabehl

Nicole Thietje

2024 Middle School Educator of the Year

Amy Comp